free spirit

Is hairstyling an art or a skill or both?

3 posts in this topic

I have been in the beauty industry for 6 years. I have heard it said time and again, that I'm an artist, that I'm creative ect...

I think hairstyling is more of a skill than anything. Yes, you have to be creative and have a good imagination for what color, cut would look great on a person, given their skin tone, facial shape ect..... But to be able to manipulate the hair and make it do what you want to look a specific way, regardless of how the hair naturally lays, is a skill.

I think that make-up artisrty (mind the pun) B)

is more of an art and a skill, because you are working with color, shadows, lines, light, shape. Your goal in this is to create proportion. I don't think make-up artistry is an art, but, it is close to it.

What are your thoughts on this?

~ Carrie~

I have been in the beauty industry for 6 years.  I have heard it said time and again, that I'm an artist, that I'm creative ect...

I think hairstyling is more of a skill than anything. Yes, you have to be creative and have a good imagination for what color, cut would look great on a person, given their skin tone, facial shape ect.....  But to be able to manipulate the hair and make it do what you want to look a specific way, regardless of how the hair naturally lays, is a skill.     

I think that make-up artisrty (mind the pun) B) 

is more of an art and a skill, because you are working with color, shadows, lines, light, shape.  Your goal in this is to create proportion.    I don't think make-up artistry is an art, but, it is close to it.

What are your thoughts on this?

~ Carrie~