Abaco

Wind Power

11 posts in this topic

Part of my work involves analysis and siting for wind power. I'm fairly new at it but have enjoyed learning it. One thing about wind power that I find entertaining is the attitudes surrounding it. It seems as though people's feelings about it may be as important as the science and financials. I know, I'm probably not making sense. For example: If I mention a site I'm evaluating, somebody will either pick one of two monologues to ramble into. 1-"That's great! You can sell the power back to the power company." or 2-"Those things kill tons of birds. Terrible!" What I find interesting about this is that both ideas are invalid, yet very popular. I evaluate small systems, which are not used to generate power for sale, but only for use on site and net metering. I even heard somebody call wind turbines "gross polluters" the other day. I thought that was interesting, hearing that term I first heard many years ago in California's war against the automobile. I can't help but think of "check your premises".

For the most part I just look at the financials, the science of the available wind resource, the local environment (including things like neighbors, surface roughness of the surrounding terrain, etc), and try to generate an expected payback. The conclusion I've come to is that very few sites are worth the effort. However, there are many sites with great potential that have yet to be tapped. I actually haven't dealt with any government subsidies (another popular story). There are some good incentives here from the utilities, however.

I'm curious about what my fellow Ayn Rand fans think of the subject, or if any of you have ever looked into it.