bborg

Anyone been "speed dating" before?

29 posts in this topic

A meetup.com group I joined recently is offering an event on the 31st and I signed up for it. This is definitely not in my “comfort zone”, but of course that zone hasn’t really gotten me anywhere. There are a few things I like about the concept: none of the awkwardness of approaching women, since that’s arranged for you; guaranteed 4 minutes (in this case) of her time and no commitment past that; and you write down the people you’re interested in and they send mutual matches by email, so it’s no pressure while still having the opportunity for follow through.

However, I’m still not sure what I’m supposed to talk about in 4 minutes. Any advice? I’m not very good at small talk, but bringing up the same topics with everyone could get old, since there are quite a few women signed up. What's the best approach?

A meetup.com group I joined recently is offering an event on the 31st and I signed up for it. This is definitely not in my “comfort zone”, but of course that zone hasn’t really gotten me anywhere. There are a few things I like about the concept: none of the awkwardness of approaching women, since that’s arranged for you; guaranteed 4 minutes (in this case) of her time and no commitment past that; and you write down the people you’re interested in and they send mutual matches by email, so it’s no pressure while still having the opportunity for follow through.

However, I’m still not sure what I’m supposed to talk about in 4 minutes. Any advice? I’m not very good at small talk, but bringing up the same topics with everyone could get old, since there are quite a few women signed up. What's the best approach?

If your willing to listen to an old guy, what do women always complain about? Men just talk about themselves, don't listen, etc.

So, being relaxed, warm, and confident to set it up, then, take the initiative and: