sean

My first scupture and a question.

10 posts in this topic

Well, having been house bound last week here in the Northeast by 3' of global warming has lead me to try a my hand at figure sculpture. I'm a vintage motorcycle Mechanic by trade and have not touched a block of clay sense I was in my teens so, I don't think it's half bad. Anyway, I decided on sculpting the human figure after coming across the definition in the Ayn Rand Lexicon to see if I can better understand where she was coming from when she said that only the figure of man can project a metaphysical meaning and there is little that one can express in the statue of an animal or of an inanimate object. It's is this statement that I find myself in disagreement with for as a lover of vintage design, motorcycles, cars, architecture, etc.. I find that I can get a very good sense of life from their design as well. Maybe not as strong as the human body but they still do offer me a great deal of metaphysical meaning or so it would seem. 2ni4pdc.jpg

Well, having been house bound last week here in the Northeast by 3' of global warming has lead me to try a my hand at figure sculpture.

Wow, Sean! Impressive! I have to admit I can't stop staring. I probably shouldn't say this but I also want to put my arms around it.

So, is it done to scale? And why did you have to stop without completing the entire figure? You could have left out the face but I would have loved to see the rest of those magnificent curves.

I don't know much about sculpture but I find this amazing! Incidentally, how much are you asking for it? If you wanted to part with it, I mean. I wouldn't.

Que bella! Next time, you must complete it, down to the toes.