Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rtg24

The GMAT essay contest

1 post in this topic

I am currently studying for that wonderful graduate school admissions ranking machine that is the GMAT.

One section (the AWA or Analytical Writing Assessment) asks for two 30-minute essays on provided topics. No spell check, and grades are given on the basis of the logical strength of the argument (as opposed to its position).

Since I'll be doing a few of those, I thought it might be fun to post the subjects here, and let members give it a shot. You have 30 minutes, including reading time, and must turn off spell and grammar check. Bad S&G can drop you a grade (out of 6).

You could Google the search criteria, and the way it is graded, but I am less interested in GMAT-worthy answers, and more interested in seeing Objectivists' reasoned, logical, structured answers to the questions asked. This is of limited interest to me as my applied-for degrees only care about the quantitative section. But it should be fun, and good practice to argue with non-Objectivists about important issues (because it requires short and efficient answers).

Here's a couple from my book:

1. "The most important factor in choosing a career should be the potential salary." Discuss whether you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Provide supporting evidence for your views and use reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

And one that will particularly resonate with the Forum :D

2. The following appeared as part of an editorial in a business newsletter: