Jim A.

"No--drop it in the recycle bin!!"

30 posts in this topic

In the past couple of weeks, I have had one supervisor and one co-worker tell me when I dropped a soda can into a normal wastebasket: "No--drop it in the recycle bin!!" (or words to that effect), as if they were telling me I was a careless individual who didn't give a single thought to caring for the environment.

I complied with their request, but felt rather insulted. I honestly don't know how to respond to demands like that; I'm not a scientist, but it just seems to me there is a single false premise at the root of my supervisor's and my co-worker's behavior. I shouldn't have to lecture them on biology/ecology. Any recommendations on what I should say or do next time I "screw up" by dropping a Coke can into a regular wastebasket?

Gosh, can't help you there...

When I was in NYC, my landlord told me to drop the cans in the can bin, paper in paper bin, etc. and everything else in main bin.

I promptly ignored that recommendation a few times, paper in the normal bin for example.

He was annoyed, I asked why? He said the building got fined if the rubbish wasn't sorted.

That's right, on the Upper West Side, at least, if not Manhattan/NYC, it is now illegal not to recycle.

I found that extremely offensive, much like you were annoyed by the can.

Looking forward to seeing what people come up with. I tried arguing rationally with enviros before and it got nowhere. They smile confusedly when they realise they lose the fight (I trained as a production engineer, so I understand supply chains very well hehehe) and then literally never, ever mention the subject again, preferring to run away.