Red

Tips for writing personal letters to employers?

21 posts in this topic

My employer has just posted and opening for a new job. I've been preparing for this oppurtunity for almost three years now, and the last couple of months have been sleepless knowing this would come up. I'm fervent about it, and I would be exceptionally good for the position. Now it's just a matter of getting there...

The CV just needs to be updated - not much to do there. I'm not really worried about an interview; just show up on time, be well dressed, and the rest will take care of itself. To get there though, I need a good personal letter to present myself with. That's something I always struggle with.

I think a good letter should be brief, show what value you bring, why you want the job and sell you to the employer(while being authentic, of course). Avoid the typical clichés and back up every claim with concrete examples. Usually when I write it either looks like something straight out of kindergarten("Hi, my name is Red. I'm sixteen and a half and I like pancakes...") or a small novel.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated, especially if you have tips on structure and process.

Here in the States, we have people who know how to put together resumés in order to maximize their impact. Some, the ones that work in employment agencies/headhunters, know what they're doing. Do you have such an option there? Are you open to it?

Good luck!

Since the purpose of the letter is getting a particular job with the addressee, I recommend talking about HIS values and needs, and the reasons why you are the person who is uniquely the one to help him accomplish them. You can be friendly and casual if you are comfortable writing that way, but only include personal details about you are relevant to your qualifications for the job and your motivations for doing it well.

A good format might be:

Dear [hiring manager],