William W. Kaufmann

Induction

12 posts in this topic

I am interested in the question whether a formal system of induction is possible. Aristotle devised a formal deductive system, in which syllogism is the foundation of all deductive logic. What is the parallel system, if any, for induction? Putting it more succinctly, what IS "inductive logic", and how does one systematically make precise inductive inferences?

One hint here is that concept formation is inductive. Hence, do we have to have a formal system of concept formation first?

I have a number of answers, but would like to hear from knowledgeable students and professionals.

William W. Kaufmann

(I am a semi-retired Professor of Law, Lawyer, and Pro tem judge. I plan a book on legal philosophy, in which I intend to address the issues of induction and causation in the social sciences. and the fact that there is no science, including law, without precise induction).

I am interested in the question whether a formal system of induction is possible.

Aristotle devised a formal deductive system, in which syllogism is the foundation of all deductive logic. What is the parallel system, if any, for induction? Putting it more succinctly, what IS "inductive logic", and how does one systematically make precise inductive inferences?

That depends on what you mean by a "formal system." If you mean a cut and dried procedure that applies in all contexts, like format deductive logic does, then no. Induction is very context dependent. There are, however, rules and standards for informal logic, informal fallacies, etc. that can be applied to inductive reasoning.

One hint here is that concept formation is inductive. Hence, do we have to have a formal system of concept formation first?

I don't think so because concept formation, like all of induction, is so context dependent. Here again, it depends on what you you mean by a "formal system of concept formation."