Crimson Flyboy

The Origin of Rights

6 posts in this topic

I am new to philosophy. I also have always taken it for granted that I own myself. I have been debating some Catholics and have trouble putting together a proper argument for the objective existence or rights and self ownership. This is the response I gave:

"So, what is a right? Rights deal with actions. A right is a freedom of action. I have a fundamental right, the right to life; all other rights derive from this fundamental right. I have a right to pursue food and water. I do not have the right to steal food and water from another, for this action would infringe upon the right to property of the other.

I have not been able to explain the origin of rights though. From where do they derive, why does a man have them. How would y'all answer these questions?

I am new to philosophy. I also have always taken it for granted that I own myself. I have been debating some Catholics and have trouble putting together a proper argument for the objective existence or rights and self ownership. This is the response I gave:

"So, what is a right? Rights deal with actions. A right is a freedom of action. I have a fundamental right, the right to life; all other rights derive from this fundamental right. I have a right to pursue food and water. I do not have the right to steal food and water from another, for this action would infringe upon the right to property of the other.

I have not been able to explain the origin of rights though. From where do they derive, why does a man have them. How would y'all answer these questions?