Janet_Busch

Hi! I'm Janet Busch

7 posts in this topic

I see that the number of registered members has already grown to over a hundred. Since there are no introductions as yet, I thought I would start things off.

I'm a retired nurse (RN). My husband and I live on our ketch (that's a sailing vessel, for all you landlubbers :angry:).

I've been an Objectivist for over 30 years. I'm still learning. "Still learning" is one of my favorite things about being an Objectivist! While I love to learn what the professional philosophers (at ARI, that is) are doing and saying about the big things that are going on in the world, I particularly enjoy watching how philosophy plays out in our every day lives.

We live in very interesting times, historical in ways other than political. For instance, I love to read the blogs, some of which are very well written by people who are knowledgeable in a vast variety of fields. This phenomenon represents a fundamental change in the way people are getting their ideas out into the world. Especially interesting to me is the way some of the better blogs are shining a light on the media and academia. I find it fascinating to watch "ordinary" people take on established, and incredibly insular and arrogant, institutions such as the mainstream media, and actually having an effect. Being ex-military, I also like to read the milblogs.

I look forward to our future discussions, and I'm thrilled that we are being hosted by people who are not just knowledgeable, but have the life experience necessary to be able to own wisdom as well.

Thank you to Stephen and Betsy Speicher!

I look forward to our future discussions, and I'm thrilled that we are being hosted by people who are not just knowledgeable, but have the life experience necessary to be able to own wisdom as well.

Thank you to Stephen and Betsy Speicher!

I second the Thank You, Janet. I also really appreciate reading CyberNet!