Burgess Laughlin

Reading philosophical texts

21 posts in this topic

What methods do you use to study a philosophical text -- whether it is Ayn Rand's Introduction to Objectivist Epistemology, Immanuel Kant's Critique of Pure Reason, the Christian Bible, or other texts?

EXAMPLE

Following is what I do when the book I am studying is both very important and very difficult. Any work that is less important or less difficult would require only a subset of these techniques.

First, I slowly read the text from beginning (the preface) to end, and that includes scanning the bibliography and the index. I follow a schedule, perhaps one short chapter or section of a chapter per day. If the text is extraordinarily difficult or important, I read only a few pages daily. For example, I have spent as much as several hours per page on some sections of Kant's CPR.

(I usually read three or more books in parallel, one segment per book per day. That way, I don't get burned out on any one text. For example, today I am reading about 10-20 pages of the Journals of Ayn Rand, one short section of Nietzsche's The Birth of Tragedy, a short section of Glenn Feole's The Complete Patricia Cornwell Companion (for leisure), and a short chapter or two of a pop-fiction novel (for leisure).

As I read a philosophical text the first time, I make several kinds of notes (in black ink) in the book:

(1) A few words -- in the margin, header, or footer -- summarizing or essentializing key paragraphs or sections.

(2) A few words (such as "Doubtful" or "Not clear") in the margin evaluating the text.