CoireFox

Hello all

10 posts in this topic

I have never actually introduced myself online before. I guess the best place to start would be to say that my name is Coire Fox. I am 18 years old attending Purdue University for philosophy, economics, and history. I first read Rand when I was a sophomore in high school. It was as if every question I had ever had about life and the universe had been answered. I still didn't know the answers, but I knew Rand could give me the tools to find them. I never believed in Santa Claus, and realized in sixth grade that I didn't believe in God. I say realized because up until that point I had never really considered it. I knew at a very early age that to be is to be moral, that every human action implied an act of moral judgment. I remember in middle school breaking up with the first girl I "went out with" because she laughed when I said I was going to join the Chess Club. I went to Montessori School for kindergarden. My mother said from an early age I loved to learn anything and everything. Going to public school and "bumpy" adolescent years ruined all that for me though. I am in the process of regaining my love for knowledge by following a supplementary education that I have created for myself--and I refuse to let my apathetic professors take it away from me as they did in middle school. I still have much integrating and learning to do to rid myself of incorrect thoughts and ideas. I was once a very different person, but am working hard to actualize all of my potential. Online Objectivist forums and the Objectivist Club here are aiding me greatly. I would like to thank Stephen for creating this forum and plan to gain from it immensely.

I am in the process of regaining my love for knowledge by following a supplementary education that I have created for myself--and I refuse to let my apathetic professors take it away from me as they did in middle school.