Nate Smith

Knowledge Claims

18 posts in this topic

Because there is no evidence of the existence of God, it seems to me that one should only be able to go so far as claiming, “I do not believe in God.” Yet I think Objectivists make the stronger claim, “There is no God.”

To use an analogy, I have no knowledge or evidence of the existence of someone with the same name as myself living in the same city that I live in. Therefore I am willing to say that “I do not believe there are any other Nate Smith’s in Hartland, WI”. But I am not willing to say that “There are no other Nate Smith’s living in Hartland, WI”.

Just one more:

“I do not believe that Honda makes a pick-up truck” (since I honestly don’t know if they do), but I won’t claim that “Honda does not make a pick-up truck” (because they might).

What is the proper epistemological principle(s) that applies to these situations? Thanks.

Because there is no evidence of the existence of God, it seems to me that one should only be able to go so far as claiming, “I do not believe in God.”  Yet I think Objectivists make the stronger claim, “There is no God.” 

To use an analogy, I have no knowledge or evidence of the existence of someone with the same name as myself living in the same city that I live in.  Therefore I am willing to say that “I do not believe there are any other Nate Smith’s in Hartland, WI”.  But I am not willing to say that “There are no other Nate Smith’s living in Hartland, WI”. 

Just one more:

“I do not believe that Honda makes a pick-up truck” (since I honestly don’t know if they do), but I won’t claim that “Honda does not make a pick-up truck” (because they might).

What is the proper epistemological principle(s) that applies to these situations?  Thanks.

Objectivism distinguishes between an *arbitrary* claim, and ones which are within the realm of proper reasoning/epistemology (where one can at least classify propositions as possible, probable, and certain, because they are evidence based.)