RobertF

Soulmate

43 posts in this topic

Here's something I wrote for myself. Comments are welcome.

-----

I think a man should never settle for anything less than his ideal partner. Every time he reaffirms this decision, he says "I am worth the best, the very match to my soul. Nothing less will do." This is no different to wanting the best food, clothing, home, work, and every other value he comes across.

What is your ideal? It is your soul mate. That means that that person IS EXACTLY LIKE YOU in every way that matters. I know what my ideal is. I know what she does for a living, and why, I know her morals, and her commitment to them, I know her habits, and the reason for them, I know exactly how she is in bed, and why. I know everything about her.

If a man decides to lower his standards - if a woman comes a hair-breadth near to his idea of perfection, and he decides to settle for that - he is saying "I am not worth the very best."

Unlike food, clothing, home, work, and every other value he comes across, people who are less than his ideal are an emotional investment. Empathy is a neurosis. A person who matches your ideal does not need your empathy, and you would not offer the insult of giving it to them. You do not "give them your heart." Empathy implies that you need something from an individual - personal recognition. A fully independant man needs nothing from anyone. To the extent that you settle for less than your soulmate, you open a crack in your mind where empathy floods in. The essence of empathy is compromise. You set a little (or a great deal) of space in your mind aside, and occupying that space will be the your thoughts and predictions of the other person's wills and desires. It's what people call "feeling for" or "caring for" another person. It is psychological altruism.