Stephen Speicher

Serenity (2005)

Rate this movie   59 votes

1. 1. Rate this movie

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

76 posts in this topic

Soooooooooo good!

I want to rate it an 11, but I'll settle for a 10.

Joss is boss.

Thanks - my name's Joss too.... :):)

I really enjoyed the movie, but I think it isn't as good as the TV show. Hopefully, there will be follow ups where the characters are developed even better.

They did a good job of writing a story which worked both for TV show enthusiasts and total newbies.

I rate it a 9 (I rated the TV show a 10...)

MAJOR SPOILERS FOLLOW

I can't believe they killed Wash and Sheppherd Book. Wash was an important character in the TV show, and I really liked him. And Sheppher Book was interesting and I wanted to understand what his background was...

Spoilers follow:

Am I the only one who thinks that killing the Wash character was malicious and gratuitous? It served no plot point, it wasn't the logical consequence of a previous event. It was purposefully portrayed for shock and horror, but no other point I can see. Maybe I missed some relevance, but to me, it was an immature act of surprise for surprise's sake, and it undercut all the plot thereafter.

In spite of that very big disagreement, it was a very good movie. I think the TV episodes are the best thing I've ever seen on a TV screen.

MAJOR SPOILER to FOLLOW:

Spoilers follow:

Am I the only one who thinks that killing the Wash character was malicious and gratuitous? It served no plot point, it wasn't the logical consequence of a previous event. It was purposefully portrayed for shock and horror, but no other point I can see. Maybe I missed some relevance, but to me, it was an immature act of surprise for surprise's sake, and it undercut all the plot thereafter.