Betsy Speicher

Alpha-Lipoic Acid

3 posts in this topic

Would the latest research indicate there is any value in taking alpha-lipoic acid supplements? If so, what would be the recommended dosage?

If I can add-on: Would the r-isomer or s-isomer form be preffered in non-diabetic humans?

Dear Betsy and Bryan,

I am aware from private conversations that there is a fair amount of interest in this topic amongst members of The Forum, and some might be sufficiently interested to start or stop taking pills based on my answer to your questions. That leads me to do two things: first, I am restating the standard disclaimer that I am not a medical doctor, and that my comments here should not be construed by readers as personal or even general medical advice; second, I am providing a particularly long and detailed elaboration of the reasoning which led to my conclusion on this topic. Readers who want only the conclusion should skip to the final paragraph of this message.

With that as preamble, let me go into details for those who are interested.

The main source of claims for a health benefit of alpha-lipoic acid (LA) appears to be Juvenon, Inc.:

www.juvenon.com