jasonlockwood

Mastering a foreign language

20 posts in this topic

I'm not sure if this is the proper place for a post of this nature, but here goes anyway.

I have for a long time thought about why my complete ease with mastering French seems so at odds with most people I know who have attempted to learn a second language.

As background, I began learning Spanish at age 14, then after a couple years in high school, I decided to begin studying French, too. Spanish was very easy for me, I could pronounce it with no trouble at all, and even won first prize in pronunciation contests three years in a row. I even beat out kids whose PARENTS were native Spanish speakers. These were kids who heard Spanish daily, but didn't learn to speak it till later. Needless to say I was astounded by this. How could a kid with no linguistic background come out so far ahead of everyone else?

In my junior year, I started studying French. I easily picked it up due to its similarity to Spanish. I went through two years of high school French in one year. The more difficult pronunciation was still incredibly easy to me. The structure of the language required focus, of course, but it all seemed like such a grand puzzle to me. With French, I found my linguistic niche. While I enjoyed learning Spanish, I LOVED learning French. I found myself attracted to French culture (which I must add is quite separate in my mind from their modern politics). From the beginning, I knew I wanted to master the language and incorporate it into my own life - to "make it my own," so to speak.