Duane

A Farmer Who Manifests the Greatness of Man

22 posts in this topic

Here's a news story that seems to be designed to make an Objectivist's heart glow: Better Cranberry Harvester Invented

It's not just about an invention; it's about a man, one who is not merely creative but is also independent, determined, unapologetically selfish, hard-working, and good humored.

Here's a teaser:

"I always approach just about everything with the idea that there's a better way to do it. You just need to find it," Brockman said. "I started cutting and welding and building. The first three machines didn't work at all."

I really like this one:

"I am not a mad scientist. I just make things out of necessity to make my life easier. I always say if you want to find the best way to do something, get a lazy guy to do it. I guess I am lazy."

It reminds me of Heinlein:

"Hard work is not a virtue. Progress is made by lazy men looking for easier ways to do things."

Here's a news story that seems to be designed to make an Objectivist's heart glow: Better Cranberry Harvester Invented

And they say you cannot teach an old cranberry new tricks! :wacko:

Great story, Duane. Thanks for posting it. Dan Brockman seems like a great guy.

I would have loved to see a picture of his "ruby slipper" though. Did I miss it?

I also just noticed that Mr. Brockman is making a show of a yellow band on his wrist in the picture. Wouldn't that be a Lance Armstrong band?

It would certainly be appropriate if it is.

And notice how the color of his shirt and the band match the colors on the "ruby slipper."

Thanks, Duane, for posting this. (The story reminds me a little bit of Cyrus McCormick and his reaper, whom I read about when I was a child. In the field of invention, persistence definitely pays off.)

The look on his face says it all: he's obviously delighted with what he's built!