GoingPostal

Greetings and questions

5 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm new here. Came to ask a couple questions, and I couldn't find a Q/A forum, so apologies if I've posted this in the wrong place.

I have a friend with a bachelor's in mech engineering, and he's pretty steadfast in his belief in the bible, down to having quote locations memorized. He knows about faith vs reason, creationism vs evolution, etc. In many ways, he's got a far better grasp than me on what those things are defined as. I've only recently taken a deep interest in a proper academic study of philosophy.

Recently, I have been trying to explain to this friend that accepting God exists is taking what someone told you on faith - the "leap of faith" that Christians talk about - when in fact there's no reason to believe in any of it, because it isn't proveable by the scientific method.

He identified I had brought up "Faith vs Reason". Then said his social sciences teacher taught him "Faith and reason co-exist". An example he used, you have faith in what your parents say, and your reason is that you trust them. He seemed to be fine with there being "a reason" for believing in things. It just seems to be misappropriate usage of the word with respect to faith vs reason. A definition I gave him was dictionary.com's "reason: a logical, rational, analytical argument". But he kept incessantly restating reason as a simple "why you did something".