Maarten

Lapses in the process of self-improvement

31 posts in this topic

I have been thinking more about this specific issue lately, because it is something I have trouble with myself. Since I started studying Objectivism around newyear this year I have made many, many changes so far in my actions and my thinking, and overall I think I am doing a very good job of it.

However, the thing is that when I try to change something like a bad habit, it's usually a lot harder to get rid of it than I expected. Even though the overall direction is towards progress, I still fall back a few steps in the process once in a while, and I am wondering if this is a normal part of this process? I don't think it is, but I am at a loss as to how to avoid this.

To further clarify, from my own experience I can say that it usually happens when I am rather tired mentally, sometimes my willpower is just at its end and I get less strict on watching my own actions momentarily. As far as I can tell it's not a good thing for this to happen, so I am wondering if anyone has some good advice as to how to avoid falling into this trap. Since I noticed this I instead try to do something that refuels my spirit rather than do something I know I will regret later on.

The two main theories I can think of regarding how to stop doing something is either to completely stop doing it, or to slowly reduce the frequency until you get it down to never. I think that once you have identified something as bad for you, that you should stop doing it as soon as possible, so that would greatly favor the first method I named. The second one is surely easier to do, though, although it's hard to tell right now if it is more effective in the long term. I would suspect it is not.