Cometmaker

Aerogel

10 posts in this topic

When I first saw a block of the stuff, I thought of membrillo/quince (except that the stuff is white, not rusty orange/vermillion), and then a steamed sticky rice cake dessert. But that's just because I'm a good eater. I've been tracking its uses since 2001 when a feature article appeared in IEEE Spectrum that year. I enjoy all of its aspects, from its mountaineering applications, to comet dust collection, to the way it reminds me of delicious things to eat. :P I'm curious about agricutural uses by just modifying the insulation properties to reduce antibiotic resistance in bovines. Would be great if the insulation absorbed the downwind smell of Bucky (my Nubian male goat) too!

When I first saw a block of the stuff, I thought of membrillo/quince (except that the stuff is white, not rusty orange/vermillion), and then a steamed sticky rice cake dessert. But that's just because I'm a good eater. I've been tracking its uses since 2001 when a feature article appeared in IEEE Spectrum that year. I enjoy all of its aspects, from its mountaineering applications, to comet dust collection, to the way it reminds me of delicious things to eat. :D I'm curious about agricutural uses by just modifying the insulation properties to reduce antibiotic resistance in bovines. Would be great if the insulation absorbed the downwind smell of Bucky (my Nubian male goat) too!

I've thought of a number of uses for the stuff. It's certainly very interesting though I haven't yet had the chance to touch it for real. "Solid smoke" seems to be the closest analogy. The last I read, it was extremely expensive to make, so its economic uses are limited; has that improved lately?