Sunzi Bingfa

Approaches to studying philosophy

6 posts in this topic

I decided recently to study OPAR for a second time and am considering which method of study is ideal. My current intention is to work through each of the 55 (if memory serves) sections of OPAR one-at-a-time, including in my study of each section relevant works on that topic from other writers.

That process will be very time intensive if I have to dig through dozens of works to sift out each writer's ideas that relate to the section of OPAR I am studying.

What approach worked well in your study of Objectivism? I am particularly interested in how beneficial The Great Books and the Synopticon would be with this kind of study, for those who have experience with The Great Books.

Cheers,

Steve

One approach would be to look at each Chapter in OPAR and find a corresponding idea in the Syntopicon.

You are right that this would be very time consuming so if I were going to take your approach, I think I would decide which chapter in OPAR I thought was most important to me at this time. At the moment, Chapter 9: Happiness would be at the top of my list. The Syntopicon has a chapter on Happiness. I would read the essay about Happiness and than pick an area in the outline that I am most interested in. For me that would be,

3. The argument concerning happiness as a first principle of morality: the conflicting claims of duty and happiness.

4. The pursuit of happiness.

From OPAR.

Happiness is man's--the good man's-- experience of life. The achievement of this experience, writes Ayn Rand, is "the only moral purpose" of one's life."

I would also read or reread the Preface of the Syntopicon: I. The Nature of the Syntopicon because it provides several different approaches on how one can use the Syntopicon properly.