baletindomewen

Henna body art

61 posts in this topic

I don't know if this would be an objectivist art, but this is what I do. I've been doing this on myself for a few years, but I've learned a lot more about the art in the last year so I could start doing it for others. I've started a business doing henna body art and belly dance / Bollywood dance as live entertainment. I figured it was about time I make some money doing something I love...lol

My first attempt at bridal henna:

l_c732b7d2b0a6ff8ba53237c08a39ab3e.jpg

Just a random composite of design elements:

l_a47f4d48b1f1cbefb40c1c6bc5b8747f.jpg

Me and my sister at a dance performance with henna on our hands and feet:

1179225900_l.jpg

That's really, really great work!

I have always found Henna to be very visually appealing, and beautifully exotic when it suits the wearer.

I myself had wanted to get a little Henna design on my back, but couldn't find any place that I was confident about.

If I'm ever in town, I'll give you a call :P

~C~*

Is that what the actual Henna plant looks like, or is it called Henna because of the color of the dye?

Some of the girls in my family get this done for weddings. I think it looks really cool when it is done to mimic a bracelet or rings.

Yes, all my henna is a pure, natural mix from fresh henna powder. There are a lot of artists out there who don't use pure henna and it can have disastrous results, from bad rashes to death. I don't consider myself much of an artist per se -- my sister is much better at it than I am -- but it's a lot of fun and much nicer than getting a painful permanent tattoo, in my opinion.

B. Royce, if you don't mind me asking, why revulsion?

I've never been a fan of that sort of art either, because I think it takes away from a woman's beauty. Tattoos have never appealed to me on women either.