Betsy Speicher

What’s Wrong With Hollywood?

11 posts in this topic

oldsalt can't post this herself right now, so I am doing it for her:

I offer the following bit from Dr. Hanson's Works and Days, hattip to Instapundit.

http://mt.pajamasmedia.com/xpress/victorda...tes_or_jack.php

Victor Davis Hanson

April 19, 2008 10:25 PM

Give Me a Warren Oates or Jack Palance Any Day

This is an entry in his daily blog, and is followed by a bit on Obama, and the connections to be made culturally between the two. There are some of the most interesting comments that follow and I urge you to take the time to read.

There isn't anything that those I know here would find surprising, necessarily. It is the connections, the truth of the connections, and especially, the sometimes wonderful insights offered by the commenters.

Enjoy.

Favorite quotes from the comments so far:

Bill Whittle :

Dr. Hansen,

My day job is as editor of SHOOTOUT on AMC, a movie-business talk show hosted by Peter Bart of Variety and producer Peter Guber. Every week we examine the complete spectrum of Hollywood political thought, from far left on one hand all the way to extreme left on the other.

The degree to which the decision-makers live in a liberal-cliche bubble simply boggles the mind, and it would be amusing if it were not so tragic to see these very bright people struggling to understand why the movies that portray Americans' fathers and sons, mothers and daughters in uniform as baby-murdering rapists somehow -- bafflingly! -- do not do well at the box office.

Don :