piz

Narcissism

8 posts in this topic

I should note that I'm not a psychologist, nor am I any sort of expert on Narcissistic Personality Disorder. However I have a lot of first-hand experience with it, because two of the people who were most important to the course of my life very likely had this disorder. In the process of overcoming the effects of dealing with them, I have studied the condition to some extent. Anything I post about the condition is subject to correction by someone more knowledgeable.

Could you add some more examples to this. I find it hard to connect the theory in your post to real life examples. By the way I find this subject very fascinating and relevent.

Specificaly regarding gifts: gifts from a narcissist (N) come with strings attached. (Others besides Ns do this sometimes, but in my experience Ns always do.) One N in my own life constantly checks on gifts she gave me, making comments like "Is that the shirt I gave you?" or, when visiting, "Didn't you like that knickknack I gave you?" or "Aren't you using the vase I gave you?" (I gave you is a recurring clause in these instances.) She also likes to remind me of how much she's done for me, all the "favors" she's done me (see the section of my essay about Ns equivocating on gifts and favors), towards an end of inculating in me a sense of debt to her.

Here's a non-gift example: at a recent holiday dinner, I was engaged in conversation with someone in one room while this same N was doing something else in another. From the other room kept coming "What?" and "Hmm?" and other interjections that indicated that she was listening in on our conversation, even though she hadn't been part of it up to that point and it was about a topic that doesn't interest her at all. She acted like we were talking to her, with an attitude that presumed we couldn't possibly be talking to anyone else.