Photo

"Where Have You Gone, Isaac Newton?"

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Paul's Here

Paul's Here

• Members
  • 6,971 posts
  • Interests:Engineering, problem solving, philosophy, hiking, vacationing, economics, computers, and, of course, Objectivism

Posted 24 October 2006 - 02:40 AM

I don't know if you've discussed this elsewhere, but I'm curious what you think about it. I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to ask you. I find some of these comments bizzare in light of the accomplishments of physics during the 20th century. But I'm just an interested layman when it comes to physics.

Where Have You Gone, Isaac Newton?

Are these quotes historically accurate?

Then came the Age of Reason, when Isaac Newton called for an end to such lunacy. He famously declared that he "framed no hypotheses"--meaning that he dismissed any idea that was unsupported by observational evidence. After Newton, peddlers of nonsense were banished to the disreputable realm of pseudo-science.

Today, physicists suppose that a particle can travel many different paths simultaneously, or travel backwards in time, or randomly pop into and out of existence from nothingness. They enjoy treating the entire universe as a "fluctuation of the vacuum," or as an insignificant member of an infinite ensemble of universes, or even as a hologram. The fabric of this strange universe is a non-entity called "spacetime," which expands, curves, attends yoga classes, and may have twenty-six dimensions.

In short, the recent literature on physics makes one nostalgic for anything as reasonable as a witch trial.